Actors from the fine chemicals and biochemicals industries

Actors from the fine chemicals and biochemicals sector in France are listed on this site.

> More

PRESS RELEASE

Health industries propose concrete measures to secure the supply chain of medicines

For a proactive industrial policy for the pharmaceutical industry to guarantee sustainable safety and health autonomy: on the basis of a study carried out by PwC Strategy&, the health industries propose concrete measures adapted to the different types of vulnerabilities identified.

In recent years, France and Europe have had to manage situations of tension and even disruption of supplies of active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs) and medicines. The COVID-19 crisis has highlighted the vulnerabilities of certain raw material supply chains and our dependence on non-EU countries for health care, particularly in Asia.

In light of this widely shared observation, the strategic committees of the Health Industries & Technologies and Chemicals & Materials sectors wanted to identify measures that would make it possible to sustainably strengthen the complex value chains of the pharmaceutical industry by focusing on innovation and the reindustrialization of the production of APIs, pharmaceutical intermediates and registered raw materials.

In this context, the profession, represented by the pharmaceutical fine chemicals (SICOS), medicines (Leem) and generic and biosimilar medicines (Gemme) industries, has entrusted PwC, with the participation of G5 Santé, with a study of API supply vulnerabilities for the medicines industry.

Taking into account recent reports on the subject, the study recommends classifying critical APIs according to five categories of vulnerabilities identified at different stages of the value chain in order to implement concrete and adapted measures:
fragile input supply,

  • complex production chain,
  • manufacturing based on old technologies with significant discharges and low standards outside the EU,
  • economic fragility,
  • particularly unstable or very low volume demand.

In response to these vulnerabilities and their consequences, the study identifies four types of measures to secure the drug supply chain:

  • the inclusion of the full cost of supply (including environmental impact and security of supply) in the economic policy for medicines,
  • a support to the European production offer,
  • accelerated innovation in pharmaceutical chemistry processes,
  • more coordinated and harmonized management of shortages in Europe.

Finally, the study identifies the fields of innovation specific to pharmaceutical chemistry that would make it possible to boost the European production offer and develop the attractiveness and competitiveness of the territory, by maintaining and securing in Europe skills and technologies that are critical to the development of new drugs and new therapies. In particular, it details the means of accelerating their implementation. This is the case, for example, with particle engineering, biotechnologies, new, more competitive and greener production processes, and digitisation to improve productivity, quality and speed of development and marketing.

"The analysis carried out by PwC with a consultation of numerous players in the value chains has identified critical vulnerabilities. We are convinced that the implementation at European level of concrete, targeted and adapted measures proposed in this study would allow a relocation through innovation in Europe for the benefit of our health sovereignty in the long term" declares Vincent Touraille, President of SICOS.

"This study confirms the strategic nature of the pharmaceutical industry. The production value chain is complex and involves a large number of players with multiple skills. A sustainable and efficient production of active ingredients, as close as possible to the innovations in tomorrow’s therapies, is essential for Europe to maintain a world leadership position in innovative therapies. The proposed measures will benefit patients first and foremost by significantly improving the country’s capacity to host innovations and by strengthening our country’s strategic autonomy in terms of medicines. They will give us the means to restore the competitiveness and attractiveness of France and, more broadly, of Europe" adds Frédéric Collet, President of Leem.

"For the past 20 years, French and European pharmaceutical strategy has been essentially driven by a policy of lowering drug prices. Today, with the health crisis, Europeans have discovered the consequences of this policy. It is not too late, there are still successful manufacturers in Europe throughout the value chain. Let’s give them the means to accelerate their innovation projects in production in order to maintain their activities in Europe in the long term," says Stéphane Joly, President of Gemme.

The results of this study will contribute to the work in progress at the French and European levels in the context of defining national and European pharmaceutical and industrial strategies.

"By improving our capacity to welcome innovations and by strengthening our strategic autonomy in the field of health, we will collectively give ourselves the means to restore the competitiveness and attractiveness of France and Europe," concludes Vincent Touraille.


Press contacts :

Contact SICOS :
Catherine LEQUIME - Tel : 01 46 53 10 17 - 06 30 55 63 34 - email : clequime@sicos.fr

Contact Leem :
Stéphanie BOU - Tel : 01 45 03 88 38 - 06 60 46 23 08 - email : sbou@leem.org

Contact Gemme :
Catherine BOURRIENNE-BAUTISTA - email : c.bourrienne-bautista@gemme-asso.org

Activities / Products

This list mentions activities/products which are sector-specific; Head offices, subsidiaries, sites have selected activities/products they are involved in.

News

  • 14/06/2013 : CPhI Worlwide - 22-24/10/2013 - Frankfurt

    22-24 October 2013 Messe Frankfurt, Germany Join SICOS Biochimie in Frankfurt for CPhI Worldwide 2013, the world’s leading pharmaceutical (...)
  • 02/06/2013 : SICOS General Assembly on 18th June

    Vincent Touraille, SICOS Biochimie president, is pleased to welcome companies to participate to the conference of Pierre Angot (Minstry of (...)
  • 02/06/2013 : Plant Based Summit - 19-21/11/2013 - Paris

    Pavillon d’Armenonville - Paris - Porte Maillot 19-21 November, 2013 PBS, connecting you with the key international decision-makers, the ones (...)

> All news

Les acteurs de l'industrie de la chimie fine et de la biochimie

Ce site répertorie des acteurs de la chimie fine et de la biochimie localisés en France.

> En savoir plus

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE

Les industries de santé proposent des mesures concrètes pour sécuriser la chaîne d’approvisionnement des médicaments

Pour une politique volontariste industrielle du médicament permettant de garantir une sécurité et une autonomie sanitaire durables : sur la base d’une étude réalisée par PwC Strategy&, les industries de la santé proposent des mesures concrètes adaptées aux différents types de vulnérabilités identifiées.

La France et l’Europe ont eu à gérer, ces dernières années, des situations de tensions voire de ruptures d’approvisionnement de principes actifs pharmaceutiques (API) et de médicaments. La crise du COVID-19 a mis en exergue les vulnérabilités de certaines chaînes d’approvisionnement des matières premières et notre dépendance sanitaire aux pays hors UE, et plus particulièrement d’Asie.

Face à ce constat largement partagé, les comités stratégiques de filières Industries & Technologies de Santé et Chimie & Matériaux ont souhaité identifier les mesures qui permettraient de renforcer durablement les chaînes de valeur complexes du médicament en misant sur l’innovation et la réindustrialisation de la production d’API, d’intermédiaires pharmaceutiques et de matières premières réglementées.

Dans ce cadre, la profession, représentée par les secteurs industriels de la chimie fine pharmaceutique (SICOS), des médicaments (Leem) et des médicaments génériques et biosimilaires (Gemme), a confié au Cabinet PwC, avec la participation du G5 Santé, une étude des vulnérabilités d’approvisionnement en APIs pour l’industrie du médicament.

Prenant en compte les rapports récents existants sur le sujet, l’étude préconise de classer les API critiques selon cinq catégories de vulnérabilités identifiées à différentes étapes de la chaîne de valeur pour mettre en place des mesures concrètes et adaptées :

  • approvisionnement en intrants fragile,
  • chaîne de production complexe,
  • fabrication reposant sur des technologies anciennes aux rejets importants et peu encadrés hors EU,
  • fragilité économique,
  • demande particulièrement instable ou de très faible volume.

Face à ces vulnérabilités et leurs conséquences, l’étude identifie quatre types de mesures pour sécuriser la chaîne d’approvisionnement des médicaments :

  • la prise en compte dans la politique économique du médicament du coût complet de l’approvisionnement (y compris son impact environnemental et sa sécurité d’approvisionnement),
  • une redynamisation de l’offre de production européenne,
  • une accélération de l’innovation dans les procédés de chimie pharmaceutique,
  • une gestion des pénuries plus coordonnée et harmonisée en Europe.

Enfin, l’étude identifie les champs d’innovation propres à la chimie pharmaceutique qui permettraient de dynamiser l’offre de production européenne et de développer l’attractivité et la compétitivité du territoire, en maintenant et sécurisant en Europe un tissu de compétences et de technologies critiques pour le développement de nouveaux médicaments et de nouvelles thérapies. Elle y détaille en particulier les moyens d’en accélérer la mise en œuvre. C’est le cas par ex. du particle engineering, des biotechnologies, des nouvelles voies de synthèse plus compétitives et plus vertes ou encore de la digitalisation pour améliorer productivité, qualité et rapidité de développement et de mise sur le marché.

« L’analyse menée par PwC avec une consultation de nombreux acteurs des chaînes de valeur a relevé des vulnérabilités critiques. Nous sommes convaincus que la mise en place au niveau européen des mesures concrètes, ciblées et adaptées, proposées dans cette étude permettrait une relocalisation par l’innovation en Europe au bénéfice de notre souveraineté sanitaire sur le long-terme » déclare Vincent Touraille, président du SICOS.

« Cette étude confirme le caractère stratégique de l’industrie du médicament. La chaîne de valeur de la production est complexe et fait intervenir un grand nombre d’acteurs aux compétences multiples. Une production de principes actifs durable et performante, au plus près des innovations dans les thérapies de demain, est essentielle pour que l’Europe maintienne une position de leader mondial dans les thérapies innovantes. Les mesures proposées bénéficieront en premier lieu aux patients en améliorant très sensiblement la capacité du territoire à accueillir les innovations et en renforçant l’autonomie stratégique de notre pays en matière de médicaments. Elles nous donneront les moyens de restaurer la compétitivité et l’attractivité de la France et plus largement, de l’Europe » complète Frédéric Collet, président du Leem.

« Ces 20 dernières années, la stratégie pharmaceutique française et européenne a été essentiellement dirigée par une politique de baisse des prix des médicaments. Aujourd’hui, avec la crise sanitaire, les européens ont découvert les conséquences de cette politique. Il n’est pas trop tard, il reste des industriels performants en Europe sur toute la chaîne de valeur. Donnons-leur les moyens d’accélérer leurs projets d’innovation dans la production pour maintenir durablement leurs activités en Europe » assure Stéphane Joly, président du Gemme.

Les résultats de cette étude seront versés aux travaux en cours menés aux niveaux français et européen dans le cadre de la définition des stratégies pharmaceutique et industrielle nationales et européennes.

« En améliorant notre capacité à accueillir les innovations et en renforçant notre autonomie stratégique en matière de santé, nous nous donnerons collectivement les moyens de restaurer la compétitivité et l’attractivité de la France et de l’Europe » conclut Vincent Touraille.


Contacts Presse :

Contact SICOS :
Catherine LEQUIME - Tél : 01 46 53 10 17 - 06 30 55 63 34 - email : clequime@sicos.fr

Contact Leem :
Stéphanie BOU - Tél : 01 45 03 88 38 - 06 60 46 23 08 - email : sbou@leem.org

Contact Gemme :
Catherine BOURRIENNE-BAUTISTA - c.bourrienne-bautista@gemme-asso.org

Annuaire

Cet annuaire répertorie les acteurs du secteur de la chimie fine et de la biochimie localisés en France. Sociétés, filiales et implantations y sont recensées et leur activité présentée.

Activités / Produits

Cette liste identifie des activités/produits caractérisant la profession dans son ensemble ; sociétés, filiales et implantations répertoriées ont sélectionné dans cette liste les activités/produits leur correspondant.

Actualités

> Toutes les actualités